Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“As children many of us hyped the statement, “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.” Clearly, it doesn’t take long to realize that words have far more weight than we want to realize. They influence thoughts, feelings, actions and states of mind. Even little words often have big meaning.
Think about it. Whether you want to land your dream job, improve your friendships, save your marriage or retain your employees; the words you choose can make all the difference. The simplest little words, which we take for granted, have the power to hurt or heal, to inspire or discourage, to help or to hinder.”

Words like “thank you”, ” I miss you”, ” I love you”, “good job”, “amazing work”, “I am very proud of you”, “I am sorry”, ” please”, ” forgive me”, ” I made a mistake”, “You are beautiful”, “you can do it”, “it is going to be just fine”… can make the sun shine. And I mean it. Imagine how you would feel if you were having one of those ugly days and out of nowhere someone makes a kind remark like “I admire your patience” (when you are struggling to make one copy on a stubborn photocopier) or another kind remark like “you look lovely today” (especially when you are feeling down and “fat”).  Imagine how your kids or your students would feel if you simply tell them “you are doing a great job” or “you are improving”. I bet they will learn faster and will look at you in a different heroic way.

I must admit that good sincere praise can work wonders and lift mountains.

We learned in math that a straight line is the shortest way to connect two points.  And guess what, the shortest easiest way to reach someone’s heart is a kind nice word 🙂 Try it for a while and see the results 🙂

Have a great sunny day 🙂 and thank you for reading 🙂

(The text in Italic is by the wonderful Nea Joy and the entire article can be found on this link. The rest is by Zeina Gabriel).