Tags

, , , , , ,

  • “But I don’t know what to write…”

–   “Start. It doesn’t matter. It will all take shape as soon as you sit down, concentrate and start  writing.”

  • “I don’t know, it seems too good to be true. What if, I don’t manage to write what my audience wants me to write?”

–   “What does your audience want you to write about?”

  • “I don’t know.”

–  “Don’t worry about your audience for now. Everything will fall into place once you start.”

  • “What if, words get stuck between my throat, my mind and my hands? It happened before you know. Some call it “writer’s block.”

– “Your words will find a way to communicate with you and to let you write them. You will be fine. Don’t worry about writer’s block, you are here to un-block it”

  • “How do you know?”

– “I know. I just know.”

  • “Am I ready to write?”

– “Yes, you are ready. You have never been so calm and so relaxed as you are now. You are ready to write and to express yourself as you have never been before.”

  • “How do you know?”

– “I just need to look at you.”

  • “What do you mean? Can you read me like an open book?”

–  “Yes, almost. You can say that.”

  • “What do I write about?”

–  “Anything that crosses your mind. Just put it down, plain black characters on a white page. You will read it and re-read it and correct it later. For now, just get these words, sentences, stories, problems, struggles, adventures, stories… off your shoulders.”

  • “I am scared.”

–  “From what?”

  • “From everything. From time, from the future, from this moment called now, from people, from perfection or excellence… from grammar, from words, from stories, from myself, from the world, from not meeting the standards, from not being able to get my messages through, from not being able to be understood, from writing too much or too little, from adding too much details (that I see as the juicy stuff), from my audience not liking my details…”

– “These are a lot of fears little kid, aren’t they? Don’t worry, these are just thoughts. They will pass. You know what we do with our fears?”

  • “No, what?”

–  “We face them.”

  • “Really, how?”

– “We look them in the eyes like we would stare at the sun, and we tell ourselves that we can do anything we want, that limits are just in our minds. We tell ourselves that everything is a learning experience, that we are scared and that everybody else is also scared. We put our minds into changing what we want to change, one step at a time. Remember the quote by Randy Pausch? “Brick wall are there for a reason. They are not there to keep us out. Brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want things. Brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough. They are there to stop the other people!”

  • “Fears don’t have eyes!”

–  “You don’t know that. Have you ever faced a fear?”

  • “No, not really.”

-“So you should probably face a few and look at them to know that they have eyes and ears and many other things too…”

  • “Yes, but what if the end result in my writing isn’t up to the standard? What if my writing are simply “bad” or “unreadable” or “below the audience expectations”?

–  “Why are you worrying so much about your audience? We write for ourselves first, and then we worry about our audience. We have time to read, re-read, correct, delete, re-write, add, delete, change and start all over again so that our audience can grasp what we mean, right?

  • “I don’t know. I should probably tell my audience something useful about themselves, or something they can use in their lives, so they find my writings useful…”

–  “We will get to that. Don’t worry. You have plenty of time to take all these things into consideration.”

  • “Really, how long do I have?”

– “Don’t worry, everything will fall in its place at the right moment.”

  • “What if, I run out of time?”

– “Don’t worry, you won’t.”

  • “How do you know?”

–  “I have known you well enough to know that you won’t run out of time. You are a good dedicated reliable person who always get the job done. You will be fine. Start writing little kid. I will be around if you need anything.”

  • “Ok, see you later. Thank you.”

I have just come to the end of my first post and I am sorry to tell you that I only have two characters talking. For now I can only see their souls communicating but not their external bodies. That’s a weird thought, you are probably thinking right now. Don’t worry, as one of my characters just said above in the conversation, all that will materialize later. Thank you for reading. Please don’t hesitate to drop me a note telling me if you like this post and how you’d see this story going… Thanks again. Take care.

