Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

The best is yet to come – Nokia N8

When Bob Crewe and Robert Gaudio wrote the song “Can’t take my eyes off you” in the sixties, they couldn’t predict the future of this song. When Frankie Vallie recorded this song as an audio single in April 1967, he didn’t know that it would be one of his biggest hits and that it would win a gold record. When we listen to this song over and over again after 44 years, we are still amazed by the lyrics and by the simplicity of the words, no wonder it was performed all over the world and was sang by more than 200 artists. I can’t predict the future of cameras in cellphones, but I can assure you that the Nokia N8 camera is worth using, re-using, exploring and experimenting with. It is too good to be true, yet, we can’t take our eyes off it.

When I received the e-mail from H… from@WOMWorldNokia telling me about the Nokia N8 two weeks trial, I thought to myself, this is too good to be true. When last Monday I received the package via DHL, I couldn’t believe my eyes. When I first had a look at the small 6 x 11cm black Nokia N8 device, I was afraid to put any hope in it. When I started exploring it with the eyes of a 5 years old child, I knew that I was holding great potential in my hands.

I had previously used 4 cameras:

– a small 3.2 Megapixels, point and shoot camera with hardly any optical zoom which was my first camera and which taught me great things about photography when I first used it 7 years ago;

– a semi professional camera Canon Powershot S2 IS, 5.5 Megapixels, with 12 optical zoom, which allowed me to explore unlimited possibilities and taught me almost everything I know about photography;

– a professional camera Canon EOS 7D (DSLR, 18Megapixels) with a lens 18 – 200 mm, which taught me numerous things about : shutter speed, aperture, manual mode, AV mode, TV mode, depth of field,… and which still is the best camera I have ever used so far;

– a small tiny 3.2 Megapixel camera from my current cellphone.

I hardly knew anything about cameras in cellphones. I tried using the camera from my 3.2 Megapixel cellphone but I loathed the quality of the pictures that I never bothered to download the pictures or even to review them, but when I looked at the wide 360 x 460 pixels, 3.5 inches, amoled capacitive touchscreen, of the Nokia N8 with its 16M colors, I knew that cameras in cellphones have evolved so much over the last couple of years that I needed to start exploring them.

The camera in the Nokia N8 is almost similar to “point and shoot” cameras, i.e the small handy cameras that you take all over with you and which hardly have any optical zoom. But the Nokia N8 device combines different features in the same device: it is a phone, it has a GPS, it allows you to have internet access, to listen to the radio, to play games, to download new games, and it has a camera and a video. I will only consider the features of the camera. Let me say it up front that I love it. I LOVE IT.

I have always believed that it is the photographer who takes great pictures and not the camera he/she is holding. I can say after using the Nokia N8 for almost 8 days that with this phone, this theory is put into practice. Of course it has some disadvantages but it also has many advantages. I will start by listing the advantages and then move to the disadvantages.

Advantages of the Camera available with the Nokia N8:

1. It has many features or settings that one can use. These features are  under “scene modes”:

  • Auto (A)
  • User defined (M)
  • Close-up
  • Portrait
  • Landscape
  • Sports
  • Night
  • Night portrait

The camera is set automatically on “auto” but it gives amazing shots if one chooses other scene modes according to the situation. When I first started using the camera in the Nokia N8 I didn’t know about the “scene modes” feature and I wasn’t very satisfied with the close-up photos I was taking, then when I found out about the “scene modes” options, especially the “close-up” one, I noticed a shift and a major change in my photos.

2. Another interesting feature is the “colour tone” feature:

  •  Normal
  • Sepia
  • Black and White
  • Vivid

I didn’t get the chance to experiment with the “sepia” or the “black and white” option, but I really liked the “vivid” option, because the colors seemed to be more appealing and more vibrant. By the way, the camera is set by default on the “normal” colour tone. Please note that you can choose any scene mode and any colour tone while choosing your settings before taking a picture.

3. Contrast

4. Face detect

5. White balance

6. Sharpness

7. Grid

8. Exposure

9. Self timer

10. ISO A light sensitivity

11. Large capacity : 16 GB storage

I will explain the above points (from 3 to 11) in tomorrow’s post.

Thank you for reading, commenting, liking, sharing and enjoying 🙂

Here are some photos taken with the Nokia N8.

