Tags

, , , , , ,

About two weeks ago, I received a direct message on twitter from @WOMWorldNokia asking me for my e-mail address because they wanted to contact me for something related to photography. As soon as I read the message I said to myself, “yes, sure, why not? What do I have to loose? I will wait for their e-mail and if I don’t like the content I can always delete it”.  A few minutes after sending them my e-mail address as a direct message, I received a very short but very polite answer:”Thank you very much, my colleague will be in contact with you soon :)”. I felt at ease when reading the message, and soon forget about the whole thing.

A couple of days later, I received the following e-mail:

“Hello,

Let me introduce myself, my name is H… and I’m writing from http://wwwwomworldcom/nokia , a Nokia-sponsored platform where we cover conversation about Nokia products and services, as well as getting involved in events and sending out devices for trial.

I came across your site recently and really enjoyed looking at your photos. I particularly liked the Down town photo with church and mosque together and another one for the Camel in Egypt.

Such a keen and talented photographer as you are, I thought you might be interested in our trial programme… We have Nokia N8’s available for a two week trial period and we would love for you to try one out. The phone has a 12MP camera which would be great for you to use whilst on the go- it’s something you can just pull out of your pocket to capture some new moments in Lebanon rather than carrying around a larger camera with you all of the time.

Here’s a few links, which should give you a clearer idea of what we do, as well as a basic overview of the phone:
http://www.flickr.com/groups/nokian8/pool/

http://zaphoto.com/2011/02/nokia-n8-cellphone-photography/

http://vimeo.com/18509167

http://www.womworld.com/nokia/19615/n8-goes-macro/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ylpnotes/5047070794/

Obviously this is a free trial and all courier costs will be covered by us. If you’re interested then please let me know and we can sort out the details.

Cheers” 

I felt happy after reading this e-mail and a little bit confused. I wasn’t sure whether it was good or bad. I thought to myself this is too good to be true. I took some time to read the e-mail again and to re-read it. I pondered, I wondered and wandered. I thought about the whole thing over and over again. I didn’t want to tell anyone about it because I knew from previous experience that when I talk about something when it is about to take shape, something unexpected happens and usually my plans never see the light. So I decided to send a long e-mail asking … questions.

H…’s answer came quickly and it answered all my questions. I decided to go for the two weeks trial and last Monday I received the Nokia N8.

I will tell you more about it tomorrow 🙂

Here are some pictures taken with the Nokia N8. Please click on the picture to see it in its original size. What do you think?

