Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I read the following on Paulo Coelho’s website and the whole story had such an impact on me that I wanted to share it with the whole world. Here it is:

“The German philosopher F. Nietzsche once said: “it is no use living arguing about everything; it is part of human nature to make a mistake now and again.”
And the writer James Joyce shares the same opinion: “A man’s errors are his portals of discovery.”

Yet we all know people who absolutely insist that they are right even down to the smallest details.
We ourselves are often included in this category: we don’t allow ourselves to make mistakes.

All that we achieve with such an attitude is the fear of moving forward – because certain steps call for new decisions whose results are unknown to us.

The fear of making a mistake is the door that locks us up in the castle of mediocrity: if we manage to overcome this fear, we are taking an important step towards our freedom.”

I know people who think they are “absolutely  right  in every single thing they make”. And I also know that no one can be absolutely sure of being always right. I have been around people who wouldn’t allow themselves – or anyone around them- to make the slightest, the simplest, the tiniest mistake and I  am also familiar with how ridicule they are when they think and behave in this way. I have been around people who were afraid of change and who reacted to everything single move as a threat to their “empire” or as “unknown unclear path” they were afraid to take, to think about or to even acknowledge.

And every single time, I have been exposed to such reactions, I used to ask myself  if it was me who was afraid of change or anybody else. I found myself many times stuck in a repetitive cycle of  hours, of weeks and of months, going to work and returning back home… I have been locked out in a castle behind closed doors for too long, I wonder if I will ever have the chance to break free and to see the light…

Thank you 🙂


